Skip Navigation Website Accessibility
P: 605.838.5447  |   
  • 1016 W 41st St., Sioux Falls, SD 57105  |  CONTACT

Modern acoustic. Singer/songwriter. Contemporary folk. Carl Tosten is a musician whose style defies easy classification. With his strong and soulful voice and an eclectic & expressive guitar technique that includes percussion, tapping, multiple open tunings and capos, Tosten has been called an “acoustic one-man band.” His introspective and thoughtful lyrics speak to us individually as well as collectively with his observations on society, the complexities of living and love. Classical and jazzy overtones elevate his original compositions to a level more sophisticated than simply “folk,” and his live performances are filled with intense energy, stories, and songs that captivate and inspire his audience.

As an artist representative & traveling clinician for several major manufacturers — including Yamaha and Elixir Strings — Tosten has had the opportunity to perform and conduct workshops and product demonstrations throughout the US, Europe and New Zealand. Carl has played with and or shared the stage with, Brent Mason, Stanley Jordan, Tuck & Patti, Lila Downs, Lee Ritenour, Seymour Duncan, Stu Hamm, James Burton, Mike Stern, Rick Vito, Muriel Anderson, Nokie Edwards, Frank Vignola, Carl Verheyen, The California Guitar Trio, Daryl Steurmer and Doyle Dykes.

RSVP Below for a free workshop with Carl and come join us for an evening of music June 22nd!

RSVP for Carl Tosten Guitar Workshop


image of someone playing classical guitar

Music makes a tight community.


Now more than ever, we all need to support each other. That's why we have created this page. Please let us know if you are a gigging musician that is not included here - we will be sure to add you!

Let's join together to spread the word!

Events Calendar


Jun 20
Live Music at R Wine Bar - Live Jazz
Jun 20
The Premiere Playhouse Presents: Hair
Jun 20
Tyler Richton & The High Bank Boys




 Guitar Doctors | Jazz Guitar Duo feat. Dan Donahoe & Randy Royer | 605-937-3233 or 605-645-9346
 The Cloverfold  |  Americana  |  facebook.com/thecloverfold
 Mr. Wobbles  |  Indie & Cover  |  instagram.com/mr.wobbles/
• The Neverreacher  | Folk-grunge | facebook.com/IllNeverReachMyHome
• Jesse Christen  | Blues Rock Jazz  |
  facebook.com/jesse.christen
• Reinvented Wheels  |  Classic Rock  |  facebook.com/reinventedwheels/
• Kevin Ryan  |  Classics and Originals |  facebook.com/profile.php?id=100012848746717
• Jetley Park  |  Rock n' Roll  |  jetleypark.com/
• Mean Streak  |  Rock, Metal  |  facebook.com/MeanStreakOfficial
• The Barn Flies  |  Country-Rock  |  facebook.com/thebarnflies
• Expereyemental  |  A Unique Blend of Sounds  |  facebook.com/expereyemental/
• Tom Watson  |  Americana  |  tomwatson6newstrings.com
• Chris Sandvig Music  |  facebook.com/csandvigmusic
• Serious Shirley  |  Rock  | facebook.com/seriousshirley/
• Diablo Sammich  |  Rock n' Roll  |  facebook.com/DiabloSammichOfficial/
• Dammit Jim Band  |  Rock-Country  |  facebook.com/DammitJimSD/
• Man Seeking Mountain  |  Rock and Heavy Rock  |  facebook.com/manseekingmountain
• March In Arms  |  Military Power Metal  |  facebook.com/marchinarms
• Uncle Roy and the Boys  |  Variety  | facebook.com/UncleRoyandtheBoys/
• Somebody or Someone  |  Rock  |  facebook.com/somebody.or.someone.band
• Port Nocturnal  |  Heavy Psych Rock  |  facebook.com/Portnocturnal
• Trap Kit  |  EDM Inspired  | trapkit.org/
• Chelsey Dee and Company |  American Country  | facebook.com/chelseydeeandcompany
• Prairie Thunder Band  |  Country  |  facebook.com/PrairieThunderBand
• Pumpin' Ethyl  |  Rock n' Roll Party  |  facebook.com/pumpin.ethyl
• Kid Nebraska  |  Country  |  facebook.com/kidnebraska
• Great Odin's Raven  |  Melodic Metal, Hardcore, Punk, Whatever|  facebook.com/greatodinsravenband/
• Cojo and Company  |  Honky-Tonk  |  facebook.com/cojonco
• DeNada  |  Alt  Hip-hop  | denadamusic.com/
• Jaded Theories  |  Rock  | facebook.com/jadedtheories
• Highway Call Band  |  Wide Variety From Rock to Jazz  |  facebook.com/groups
• Contae Loch  |  Irish Americana  |  https://www.facebook.com/contaeloch/
• Randy Hedge  |  Variety  |  https://randyhedgemusic.com/
• Bradford Loomis  |  Americana  |  https://www.bradfordloomis.com/media/
• Short Notice Trio  |  Cover  |  facebook.com/sdshortnotice/
• Kate Elizabeth Band  |  Country  |  http://kateelizabethband.com/
• Time Macheen Too  |  (605)251-0645
• Rails, Roses, and Liberty D.W.S  |  (605)-370-1662
• Startz and Endz  |  Y2k Country and 90s Rock |  facebook.com/StartzandEndzmusic/

someone playing guitar
local venues offering live music
Below is a list of local venues offering live music. Click on the link to be directed to their website or social network.

Levitt at the Falls  |  https://www.levittsiouxfalls.org/events/
Total Drag  |  http://www.totaldragrecords.com/
Icon Lounge  |  https://iconsiouxfalls.com/
R Wine Bar  |  https://www.rwinebar.com/livemusic
Bigs Bar  |  https://www.bigsbar.com/
The Orpheum  |  https://www.siouxfallsorpheum.com/
Downtown Sioux Falls  |  https://dtsf.com/events/
The Underground by Rehfeld's |  https://www.rehfeldsonline.com/
Remedy Brewing  |  https://www.remedybrewco.com/
Severance Brewing Co.  |  https://severancebeer.com/
Denny Sanford Premier Center  |  https://www.dennysanfordpremiercenter.com/
The District  |  https://thedistrictsf.com/
The Sioux Empire Fair  |  https://www.siouxempirefair.com/
White Wall Sessions  |  https://whitewallsessions.com/
Ken's Korner  l  https://www.facebook.com/kenskornersf/events
 (605) 838-5447 
  •  1016 W 41st St., Sioux Falls, SD 57105  

  •  General: info@jrieckmusic.com  |   Products: sales@jrieckmusic.com  |  Repair: repair@jrieckmusic.com

  •  Tuesday-Friday: 10am-6pm  |  Saturday: 10am-5pm  |  Sunday-Monday: Closed